Daily Topic for December 26, 2016: Retreat

I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas and a great 2nd night of Hanukkah (I celebrate both)!  Today is a day to come back.  Retreat to your center.  Ground yourself and unwind from the holiday hectics that occupy your mind.  With New Year’s right around the corner, let’s talk about bettering ourselves, new year’s resolutions that are plausible and realistic.

My goal for my 6-week winter break is to read 5 books, and I’m a week in and haven’t read anything yet, still a goal though!

While talking to my uncle the other day, he told me that his friend last year made a resolution with his wife to do a 5k every month of the year.  They fulfilled that goal, and in the year they had successfully completed 12 5k runs.  How awesome, right?  Everyone has different ideas of what is fun and awesome— what is something that you want to do to better yourself?

 I know I would like to read more, and I’ve been wanting to start writing my own book for over a year.

 I would like to complete the 31 consecutive days of yoga with ‘Yoga with Adriene’

Work really hard and earn a 4.0 in my spring semester coming up (which I have never done, so no it’s not going to be easy)  

Another resolution I have, which can benefit me and any readers, is to write a post every day based off the ‘365 Days of Writing Prompts’ that I downloaded from the daily post wordpress blog.  I will start January 1, and try to commit myself to writing every day, even if it’s just a paragraph and not 5 pages, or even if I have to type it on a phone and not my laptop (probably will be the case when I go to Honduras in January).  Writing is unwinding and meditative for me.  

I also want to become strict with doing my duo lingo app every morning again.  Now that I’m back in the US and not in Central America hearing Spanish all around me, I need to practice.  I’m very happy that upon coming home, my extended family arrived for the holidays the next day, and my aunt (through marriage) speaks Spanish fluently, so I’ve been practicing with her.  I also have planned to make my 2nd trip to Honduras with the Towson University Students Helping Honduras chapter in January of 2017, so I will speak it there, too.

Many ideas flow to mind when I think of what could be done to improve myself, or just to maintain the good qualities I already possess, such as a clean diet and exercise routine.  You probably have many great qualities that you hope to maintain, too!  Things like that are always on my list, but it’s good to be a little ambitious, and build on top of those.  Challenge yourself, so that you strive to do better than you think you can.  You can do anything you set your mind, too, seriously!  All you have to do is believe you can do it.

If you’d like to donate to my 100% non-profit fundaround page to help fund my trip to Villa Soleada in Honduras for this January, click here!  All donations go directly to the village I work in, and they are greatly appreciated♥

tumblr_nyo0c5zdlx1ty3xj8o1_500


Spanish word of the day:

Venidero– coming, future

¿Qué planes tienen para el año venidero?/ What plans do you have for the coming year?

