Daily Topic for January 5, 2017: Tempted

I stare down at my shoes, watching as a fine layer of ash settles on the worn leather.

Call Me Ishmael:  Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

So I started by writing my prompt, and then I went back and made my first line of the post the first sentence from one of my favorite books.  This is such a tease to me because I read too many books to be able to choose a favorite among all different genres.  Ask me to pick a favorite romance novel, sure, or historical fiction novel, okay.  But one above all of them?  So, I picked a book I read and appreciated emotionally many years ago.  Mockingjay.  Yep, simple, young-adult novel if you will, and the third book of the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I liked Mockingjay because I appreciate first-person emotional instability.  And when you are reading as if seeing through the eyes of a damaged yet relentless character, you feel the pain and the relief, and the depression, and the love.  A majority of people who I have discussed this book with say Mockingjay is actually their least favorite because Katniss is depressed, and the beginning is slow and consists mostly of her internal struggles.  I admit, it’s not the riveting action like that of Catching Fire, which I also loved, but it still kept me reading until the end.  Hats off to you Suzanne, ya’ did good.

 


 

